The Fish of Small Wishes (Hardcover)

The Fish of Small Wishes By Elana K. Arnold, Magdalena Mora (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Elana K. Arnold, Magdalena Mora (Illustrator)
$18.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Fall in love with a modern fairy tale inspired by a Jewish family memory in this magical picture book by award-winning picture book creators Elana K. Arnold and Magdalena Mora.

Once, there was a girl named Kiki, who found a fish on the asphalt.

The fish was very hot and very dry.

But when Kiki put it in the bathtub, it started swimming, and growing, and . . . speaking?

"I want to grant you a wish for saving me," it said.

A wish-granting fish!

Alas, this fish was only a fish of small wishes, and Kiki’s wish was too big.

Unless . . . there was a way for both their dreams to come true.

Follow Kiki and the wish-granting fish in this contemporary fairy-tale perfect for fans of A Big Mooncake for Little Star and Carmela Full of Wishes.

About the Author


Elana K. Arnold is the author of critically acclaimed and award-winning young adult novels (Damsel, What Girls Are Made Of) and children's books (A Boy Called Bat). She lives in Southern California with her family and a menagerie of pets.

Magdalena Mora is a Minneapolis-based illustrator and graphic designer with a special interest in children's books and visual storytelling. She has illustrated Deborah Diesen's Equality's Call and Jackie Azúa Kramer's I Wish You Knew. When not drawing, she spends her free time reading, people-gawking, and trying to find the best tacos in the Twin Cities. Mostly the latter.

Praise For…


★ "Well suited to reading aloud, this imaginative narrative...glow[s] with warmth and color." -- Booklist, starred review

"A sweet...lesson about finding your voice." -- Kirkus Reviews

"This pleasantly eccentric picture book will remind readers that wishes don’t always require magic to be fulfilled." -- BCCB

"Strokes of gouache...and digital collage, depict a blue-green world bubbling with possibility in this folktale-feeling work." -- Publishers Weekly

"Fantastical and down-to-earth." -- Horn Book Magazine

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250765321
ISBN-10: 1250765323
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: January 30th, 2024
Pages: 40
Language: English