The Long Knives Are Crying (Lakota Westerns) (Compact Disc)

The Long Knives Are Crying (Lakota Westerns) Cover Image

November 2008 Indie Next List

“This is a wonderful historical novel -- the second in a series -- about the Lakota. Beginning in the few months before the Battle of the Little Bighorn, this a story of compassion, friendship, courage, and hope told by an aging warrior. One of Marshall's best works.”
— Richard Daley, Pass Christian Books, Pass Christian, MS


The second novel in Joseph M. Marshall III's acclaimed Lakota Western series begins in 1875, as Sitting Bull gathers thousands of Lakota to face the growing problem of white incursion. What follows is a sweeping tale of the Battle of the Little Bighorn, including the days and weeks leading up to the conflict and the remarkable defeat of General George Armstrong Custer and the Seventh Cavalry. Told for the first time from the Native perspective through the eyes of Lakota warrior Cloud, the story also weaves in the lesser-known but strategically important Battle of the Rosebud and the uncertain future that faced the Lakota following victory. Once again, Marshall infuses the story with his unique voice and eye for detail, creating a page-turning Western with a style of its own.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781433229923
ISBN-10: 1433229927
Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks
Publication Date: March 15th, 2012
Language: English
Series: Lakota Westerns